Wednesday, January 6, 2016

Maid For Love and Fool For Love by Marie Force

Transcription of Video

Ok, so, I just finished reading, umm, the second of a book series by Marie Force. Umm, and I’m actually gonna to do a review of both the first and second books. So, this is, umm, Maid For Love, that’s M-A-I--D, and Fool For Love by Marie Force and these are the, uh, first two books in her series, “The McCarthy’s of Gansette Island”. They are, umm,  really, really good romance novels based on, umm, a family, uh, that owns a Inn in, on this island, umm, that, uh, is based on a place, I guess, that Marie Force has actually been. She used to spend summers there. Umm, and it’s uh, this great, uh, you know very, …umm…, what’s the word I’m looking for?…Internalized community? Ummm, so everyone knows everybody else, uh, even the summer people who come and stay every summer. Ummm, you’re not really a tourist because everybody knows you cause you’ve been there before. Umm, but, uh, you, uh, you’re known, everyone knows who you are. Umm, so everyone has a history, and everybody, umm, has,,,, uh…, knowledge, and, you’re, you know it’s hard to break out of those stereotypes that you’ve grown up in. So that’s kind of the basis behind the first book, umm Maid for Love. 

Umm, there’s something about… Marie Force’s writing that she… you know, romance novels are very…fluffy. There’s a lot of …fiction, clearly because romance novels are fictionalized. But, …you …get a lot of truth in the characters that Marie Force writes. While, they’re still very fluffy and there’s that, you know, clearly it’s gonna have a happy ending cause it’s a romance novel. Umm, there is a lot of, uh, …realism, I guess, to the way that she creates her characters. Umm, and that’s what I really like…about…her writing. There’s, umm, just…something…real, and, and she brings a heaviness, I guess, to the way that she writes. All of her characters have pain, and, uh, a past, and there’s, uh, something they have to overcome, that,  to be able to find love. That she just, she brings this real, sort of, down and dirty aspect to her writing. Umm, and, so it’s really, really neat, umm, to see in her writing. 

And, of course, umm, being a series of books, there’s, is really great, because, you know, clearly, there’s this family, that, you know, so, you’re gonna have all of these books about all of the people in this family. And so the first book is umm based of, on, the story of the oldest brother, Mac, who falls in love with a maid, ha ha Maid,in the, at the Inn. She’s one of the housekeepers. And, umm,…it’s, it’s a great story. She’s, you know, she’s a down on her luck, she’s been, umm, she’s had trouble since she was in high school, like there’s, she’s got a whole past. And she’s, she’s never gonna fall in love with this guy because he’s one of the McCarthy’s and blah da blah da blah. So there’s a whole lot of, uh…uh…bad blood between them? But they’re able to come together because he’s a great guy, and. He’s got his own issues, but they work together and they come together to, umm, fall in love and they just, it’s this great thing. Umm, it’s a really well written story, and has, you know, uh, some very good, hard hitting…moments. Ummm, just in the fact that, you know, there’s, uh, things that they both have to overcome and they do that really well. 

Fool for Love, the second book, is, umm, the youngest Mccarthy child actually, so the daughter Janey, and Joe, …uh…, who is actually Mac’s best friend, funnily enough, who has been in love with her since they were, you know, kids. But she was dating her high school sweetheart and they were gonna get married, and, umm. you know, Joe’s been suffering for her for a long time, and it’s very sweet. Umm, and of course, she, uh, he was, her fiance, was going to…school to be a doctor in Boston or some such place, and ends up cheating on her and she finds out and there’s this whole big fiasco, and, umm, of course she turns to Joe who has been this big brother like guy. And she doesn’t want to tell her family, so who could she go to, but Joe? And so then that sets up the story for how they fall in love. And it’s just this great, wonderful… coming together. But at the same time you get to see, umm, the continuing story of, of Mac and, and his, umm, loving wife, who I cannot remember her name of, clearly. But, or his soon-to-be wife, cause they get married in the second book. But, umm, so there’s all of this wonderful, you know, continuation of the story line. But, umm, Joe and Janey are …uh…very real, because you have this….uh….you don’t really know for sure if they’re gonna to end up, uh, together. I mean you do, because it’s a romance, again.  But…there, it’s very much a real, sort of, …umm….uh…not….what’s the word I’m looking…stop gap….but ummm, there is a real…roadblock to them getting together in that Janey doesn’t know if she actually loves Joe, or if she just…finds him convenient ,because he’s always been there. Which is a very serious problem for her. Umm, and, you know, and, I understand that. 

So…she, it’s so, it’s just great writing and it’s a great story. And you know when you’re looking for some fluff with a story behind it, it’s really great to read. And, you know, you get caught up in characters, and the family love that’s there, and then the friends, and the great, just, chemistry that she writes. And Marie Force does a great job, she’s fantastic, I love it. Umm, so yeah, so it’s a great series to pick up and read and then, and I’m looking forward to reading more of it. So hopefully I’ll get to review another one coming up here shortly. We’ll see how quickly I bust through the next one. So, yeah, if you’re looking for a good read…Check it out. Thanks. 

No comments:

Post a Comment